Football Fantasyland: 2011 Who ya got?

Posted: September 15, 2011 in Sports

I’m still working on a clever title for this, but basically this is the breakdown of who I like and who I don’t for the week. After a crazy and potentially very revealing game one, here’s who I got.

RedskinsRex Grossman tore up the Giants, albeit they were beat up, but the Cardinals secondary got torched by Cam Newton. Obviously I like the passing game. I’m gonna go Jabar Gaffney as the money ball guy at WR, but Santana Moss and Anthony Armstrong should see some targets. I’m not huge on Fred Davis, but only because I don’t think he’ll match last weeks 100+ performance. I also think the D/ST unit could be a solid play this week. They’re feeling confident after a win over the Giants (who have owned them the past decade) and I think if they can get to Kolb he folds.

Greg Olsen, TE, Panthers – This could just be the guilt from dropping him for Todd Heap in my week 1 game (then immediately picked him back up this week) but Green Bay’s secondary is a lot better than Arizona’s and the Rookie QB is going to need to be looking to his big Tight End as a safety valve.

Willis McGahee, RB, Broncos – I know, this is the second guy off my sleeper list I’m talking about, but Knowshon is yet to take the practice field (it’s thursday for those of you not checking the date) which means McGahee is in line for an expanded role against a bad Bengals team.

Jacoby Jones, WR, Texans – I’m ripping this from NFL.com, but Coach Gary Kubiak has named him the starter this week with or without Kevin Walter, so he makes for an interesting pick up. Jones has been named a sleeper for at least the past two seasons and never broke through, but he’d also never gotten significant time as a starter. If this move is permanent this may just be the coming out party we’ve been waiting for from the young receiver.

Davonne Bess, WR, Dolphins – Bess got lost in Brandon Marshall’s shadow in week one, but he did have 5 receptions for 92 yards and I think he gets targeted a bunch out of the slot this week as Henne will be facing what should be a tough Texans pass rush. Bess should also have value in later weeks as Miami will be looking to pass a ton this year (whether that end up being because they’re playing from behind or because Reggie Bush is the feature back, they will throw.)

More to come…

Leave a Reply

